NCCU Brass Ensemble Selections

NCCU Brass Ensemble

Two selections from the 2011 "Slightly Blued" CD, produced by North Carolina Central University's Jazz Studies program. It was produced by Dr. Ira Wiggins & Artist In Residence Branford Marsalis. The NCCU Brass Ensemble is directed by Robert Trowers.

The selections are "Hesitating Blues" (composed by W.C. Handy and arranged by William Grant Still and recorded in 1919 by James Reese Europe's 369th Regimental band) and "Twilight Mist", composed by McCoy Tyner and arranged by Robert Trowers. The trumpet soloist is LeRoy Barley. The rest of the group consists of Jamnel Fields, trumpet; Reginald Greenlee & Robert Trowers, trombones; Steven McKeiver, baritone; Donovan Scott, tuba; Tyler Leak, Drums

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2